Study Committee on Relocation of Monuments

Note that this committee no longer exists as of August 15, 2018.


At their Sept. 22, 2017 meeting, the N.C. Historical Commission voted to postpone until their Spring 2018 meeting any decision regarding a petition from the N.C. Department of Administration to relocate three Confederate monuments (the Confederate Women's Monument, Confederate Soldiers Monument, and the Henry Lawson Wyatt Monument) from the State Capitol grounds in Raleigh to the Bentonville Battlefield State Historic Site in Four Oaks, N.C. The commission voted to appoint a committee from commission members to study the issue and seek advice and legal opinions from appropriate entities. Original motion establishing committee

Committee Members:

  • Sam Dixon
  • Dr. Chris Fonvielle
  • Dr. Valerie Johnson
  • Noah Reynolds
  • David Ruffin, Chair

Past Meetings:

Wed., Aug. 22, 2018, 10 a.m., in the auditorium of the Archives and History/State Library Building, 109 E. Jones St., Raleigh. 

Press Release

Motions Proposed

Thur., April 5, 2018,  3:30 p.m. via conference call

Public Hearing - Mar. 21, 2018, 1:30-3:30 p.m.
1st floor auditorium, Archives and History/State Library Bldg., 109 E. Jones St., Raleigh

Monday, March 12, 2018, 4 p.m. via conference call

Monday, Jan. 22, 2019 3 p.m. via conference call