In cooperation with other groups and with an aim to promote interest in the state’s literary and 
cultural heritage, we recognize annually achievements in writing and the promotion of history in
North Carolina.

Book Awards

Beginning in 2024, the North Carolina Literary Review is managing the North Carolina Book Awards. 
Find descriptions of the awards as well as eligibility and nomination guidelines here:

Student Publication Awards

The committee is not accepting submissions for student publications awards for the current 
awards cycle. Please continue to check back for any updates.

Achievement Awards

Hardee Rives Award for the Dramatic Arts, 
awarded since 2009 in recognition of excellent, exemplary work in and significant contributions
and service to the dramatic arts in North Carolina.

Christopher Crittenden Memorial Award,
awarded since 1970, recognizes significant contributions by an individual or organization to the
preservation of North Carolina History.

R. Hunt Parker Memorial Award, 
awarded since 1987, acknowledges significant contributions to the literary life of North Carolina.
However, it is not being awarded for the current awards cycle. Please continue to check back for 
any updates