Monday, November 28, 2022

Acquisition Ceremony for Shallow Ford State Historic Site to be Held Dec. 13

Nov 28, 2022

The North Carolina Division of State Historic Sites, part of the N.C. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, will hold a ceremony Tuesday, Dec. 13 to recognize the state’s acquisition of 246 acres along the Yadkin River in Forsyth County as the first step in creating the Shallow Ford State Historic Site.

Following a brief 1 p.m. ceremony, division staff will lead guests on a 1.5-mile narrated walk to introduce some of the property’s natural and historic landscapes. As the site is undeveloped with no facilities or paved surfaces, please dress accordingly and be prepared to wear sturdy footwear and clothing appropriate for the weather.

     WHAT: Acquisition ceremony for Shallow Ford State Historic Site

     WHEN: Tuesday, Dec. 13, 1 p.m.

     WHERE: 9600 Shallowford Rd., Lewisville, N.C.

     GPS coordinates for the Shallowford Road entrance gate are 36.092493, -80.504312

Due to limited parking capacity, please RSVP by Dec. 6 to Charles LeCount, Deputy Director, State Historic Sites, at

About the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
The N.C. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (NCDNCR) is the state agency with a vision to be the leader in using the state's natural and cultural resources to build the social, cultural, educational and economic future of North Carolina. NCDNCR's mission is to improve the quality of life in our state by creating opportunities to experience excellence in the arts, history, libraries and nature in North Carolina by stimulating learning, inspiring creativity, preserving the state's history, conserving the state's natural heritage, encouraging recreation and cultural tourism, and promoting economic development.

NCDNCR includes 27 historic sites, seven history museums, two art museums, three science museums, three aquariums and Jennette's Pier, 41 state parks and recreation areas, the N.C. Zoo, the N.C. Symphony Orchestra, the State Library, the State Archives, the N.C. Arts Council, the African American Heritage Commission, State Preservation Office and the Office of State Archaeology, and the Division of Land and Water Stewardship. For more information, please visit

Related Topics: